Selling on Etsy, plus my current favorite photograph inspired by Jane Austen

Standard

Jane Austen photo Dashwood Cottage by Diana Pappas

Do you shop on Etsy? I do, and everyday I am amazed by the truly fantastic creative works of art and design out there, no matter the medium. From illustrations to tote bags to pottery to knitwear to some seriously funky and fantastic vintage finds, there’s something for everyone on Etsy. I’ve been selling my photography there seriously for the last couple of years and I have to say it has been a slow process to get some sort of momentum in terms of sales.

Lately I’ve been taking on the challenge of how to make my photography more appealing to a buyer, how to help a buyer visualize what a print will be like when it is on actual fine art paper and not just a bunch of pixels on a screen. So today my husband and I went outside on this dreary overcast winter day and I posed him in front of our weathered garden fence (which is usually obscured by globe thistles, cosmos or monarda in the growing season – just typing this sentence is getting me incredibly excited for summer!) with a print. I should say that this is not just any print, this is one of my favorite photographs that I’ve ever taken, Dashwood Cottage.

I took this photograph in England a couple of years ago, on a blissful July day when all was seemingly right with the world and my life. Being there is a very peaceful memory for me. I call the photo Dashwood Cottage because I can just imagine Elinor and Marianne Dashwood (from Jane Austen’s Sense & Sensibility) to be at home. Above the weathered red door it says 1669, and I just love the trained yellow roses and the ladies mantle border that seems to tumble over under the weight of its chartreuse blooms. The photo is perpetual summer for me, just the thing I need to look at today!

Leave a Reply

