When a photo finds a good home, a fellow artist’s studio – Gleena Ceramics

Standard

High Tea by Diana Pappas

Several years ago in my younger and braver days, I snuck into an abandoned china factory in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, and I was just in time too because the factory was being demolished. The place honestly looked like it had been bombed, and there I was, working my way through the mess to see if there were any photographs to be had. I stopped in my tracks when I saw the last remaining dinnerware, stacked up and waiting for demolition, and perhaps waiting for me to preserve it before the wrecking ball finished its job. I called my photograph High Tea, and it was a fabulous souvenir to take home with me (though some of that crockery would have been nice too!). “High Tea” has been available on my Etsy shop for a while but it only found a home yesterday thanks to a lovely treasury by Laine of Ingleside Pottery.

Treasuries are an interesting concept – other Etsy buyers and sellers put together groupings of Etsy listings in pleasing and interesting ways, and these treasuries, if they are good enough, get promoted and shared. The resulting exposure can be a real help when you’re trying to find buyers for your work as all sellers are. In this case, the buyer of High Tea was also featured in the treasury, Asya Palatova of Gleena Shop on Etsy. Her charming O is for Owl wee tea cup caught my eye right away, and when I looked further, beyond her Etsy shop and to her website, I was blown away by her work and immediately started imagining her dinnerware on my table.

O is for Owl tea cup from Gleena's Shop

Asya bought High Tea to hang in her studio for inspiration – how cool is that? She even did some sleuthing about the china factory, learning about its history and the reason for its demise. It feels so good that High Tea is on its way to her. When you’re as attached to a work as much as I am, you really want the photograph to find a good home, a place where the work will be displayed and enjoyed for many moons to come. It will be interesting to see if Asya brings back any of these old shapes, but updated in her unique style. Here is more of her beautiful work, both in progress (as the pieces in High Tea were) and finished.  http://gleena.com

Gleena Ceramics by Asya Palatova

5 thoughts on “When a photo finds a good home, a fellow artist’s studio – Gleena Ceramics

  1. Marina

    Love your photo and love that pottery! How serendipitous! I do hope some of Asya’s dishes end up on your home too.

  2. Ariana

    What an incredible story. High Tea has always been my favorite (and it is very difficult to pick a favorite from your collection), which is why I am thrilled to hear this piece has gone to a great home! I am going to have to do some digging to find the quote that was originally paired with it about balance. I think of that often. I really love Asya’s work. I have a new obsession with baby owls inspired by a video that was shared with me with a montage of baby animals of all different species. Hence – need “O is for Owl wee tea cup”!

  3. Thanks Laine, for your lovely treasury that made it all happen.

    Thanks, Marina! I hope so too 🙂

    Ariana – Thank you! A little owl-related news for you: Last fall in England, I got to hold a tropical screech owl (which is tiny!) and I got to pet it – I almost melted. Glad you got to check out Asya’s work!

Leave a Reply

